Online Event Series

New for 2020, ASEAS(UK) is delighted to announce the launch of our Online Event Series, a programme of webinars bringing together the latest research and debates within Southeast Asian Studies.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for updates on future events.

Online Event Series Call for Panels

Previous Events

Covid-19 and Political Polarisation in Indonesia

When
16 November 2020 – 10am BST/GMT [5pm Bangkok/Hanoi/Jakarta/Phnom Penh/Vientiane; 6pm Manila/Singapore/KL]

About
Over the past four years,  Indonesian President Joko Widodo and his allies have faced a sustained political challenge from a loose alliance of conservative Islamic organisations. The strength of this alliance has ebbed and flowed during this time, and after President Jokowi’s successful re-election as president in 2019, it looked set to disintegrate almost completely. However, the Covid-19 pandemic – which has hit Indonesia hard – has provided a new set of grievances upon which this alliance aims to revive their political opposition.

This session will offer an explanation of this conservative Islamic alliance, explore how Joko Widodo administration has dealt with them prior to the pandemic, and how the government’s Covid-19 response has revitalised opposition towards Joko Widodo. It will specifically look at how the alliance has transformed and what particular issues it has promoted during the pandemic.

Speaker
Chris Chaplin is a Senior Research Analyst, specialising on Southeast Asia at the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office. He has done extensive academic research on Islamic activism, social movements, and postcolonial citizenship in Indonesia and Southeast Asia. He has published extensively on these topics in international academic journals and scholarly volumes. 

Moderator
Dr Adam Tyson is a Lecturer in Southeast Asian Politics at the University of Leeds and a member of the ASEAS Executive Committee.

Where
Zoom

This event was also live streamed on YouTube and Facebook.
You can watch a video of the recorded event below.

ASEAS(UK) Online Event: Covid-19 and Political Polarisation in Indonesia

Cost
The event is free but you can make a donation via PayPal to support our new Research and Impact Award targeted to Southeast Asia-based researchers.

Donate with PayPal

[Image: Meet & Greet | Jokowi + INTI by hendrikMINTARNO / Flickr: CC]

Southeast Asian National Responses to Covid-19

When
2 July 2020 – 10am BST [5pm Manila / Singapore / KL; 4pm Bangkok]

About
How have Southeast Asian countries responded to Covid-19?  What might other countries learn from the experiences of Southeast Asian countries?  Join us for a cross-national panel discussion of national responses and societal implications to the pandemic with scholars and experts from across Southeast Asia hosted by ASEAS(UK). 

This hour-long session will explore the politics, cultural responses and distributional impacts of Covid-19 in Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, and the Philippines. The discussion will include moderated Q&A.

Panelists
– Marites Vitug, Author and Editor at Large, Rappler
– Dr. Prapaporn Tivayanond Mongkhonvanit, Dean, School of Global Studies, Thammasat University
– Kirsten Han, Journalist and Curator, ‘We, The Citizens’ newsletter
– Tricia Yeoh, PhD Candidate, U. of Nottingham-Malaysia, Fellow at IDEAS Malaysia

Moderator
– Dr. Pon Souvannaseng, ASEAS(UK) Executive Committee Member & Reviews Editor

Where
Zoom

This event was also live streamed on YouTube and Facebook.
You can watch a video of the recorded event below.

ASEAS(UK) Online Event: Southeast Asian National Responses to Covid-19