Online Event Series

New for 2020, ASEAS(UK) is delighted to announce the launch of our Online Event Series, a programme of webinars bringing together the latest research and debates within Southeast Asian Studies.

Southeast Asian National Responses to Covid-19

#aseasukcov19

When?
2 July 2020 – 10am BST [5pm Manila / Singapore / KL; 4pm Bangkok]

About
How have Southeast Asian countries responded to Covid-19? What might other countries learn from the experiences of Southeast Asian countries? Join us for a cross-national panel discussion of national responses and societal implications to the pandemic with scholars and experts from across Southeast Asia hosted by ASEAS(UK). This hour-long session will explore the politics, cultural responses and distributional impacts of Covid-19 in Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, and the Philippines. The discussion will include moderated Q&A.

Panelists
– Marites Vitug, Author and Editor at Large, Rappler
– Dr. Prapaporn Tivayanond Mongkhonvanit, Dean, School of Global Studies, Thammasat University
– Kirsten Han, Journalist and Curator, ‘We, The Citizens’ newsletter
– Tricia Yeoh, PhD Candidate, U. of Nottingham-Malaysia, Fellow at IDEAS Malaysia

Moderator
– Dr. Pon Souvannaseng, ASEAS(UK) Executive Committee Member & Reviews Editor

Where
Zoom
Register to attend here

The event will also be live streamed on YouTube and Facebook. Keep an eye on our Twitter and Facebook pages for links.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s